Skip to content

R&R Podcast: Episode 42

March 13, 2012

It’s a dance party!

After five long years of missing out on the NCAA tournament, NC State is once again going dancing. Cliff Crawford and Ernie Myers join us to discuss Selection Sunday, the ACC Tournament and what to expect in the NCAA tournament.

We also answer questions from the audience in segment two.

Enjoy! Subscribe!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2012 3:06 am

    Wow. Just wow. With one game left in the regular season and following a 4 game losing streak this team went from looking like just another mediocre team bound for the NIT to a force in the NCAA Tourney.

    I don’t know how coach Gott and staff did it but they pulled a miracle. Just don’t know how else to describe it. I saw something in the eyes of this squad during the UVA game (a fire, will to win) and it carried over to the UNC game where something just clicked and this team would never be the same again. I was concerned about how the kids would respond after such a letdown in the UNC game but they obviously put that behind them (in my mind these kids won that game even with the mistakes which were made by both teams but I digress).

    The NCAA selection pretty much aged me like 10 years. I mean the absolute last selection? Are you kidding me? However, once the WolfPack was announced it was the greatest weight lifted off of every State fans’ shoulders. I was so happy for these guys. The fact that ESPN did not show the reaction in Raleigh at the time of the selection was a huge injustice. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a more excited group of people. Truly a moment etched into my memory.  

    But the most impressive thing for me was the way this team decided that the selection was great but that was not going to be enough for this team. They looked well prepared and executed almost to perfection in their 1st NCAA Tourney game. Then they adjusted from playing against a smaller SDSU team to the longer and completely different system of GU in such a short turnaround. I was blown away.

    To take GU’s best shot in the 1st half and respond the way that they did, it just showed that this is a special group of guys that are showing great maturity at the perfect time. And it’s been a total team effort. Guys are unselfish and different guys step up at different times. It’s beautiful to watch.

    I am just geared up for the Friday matchup with Kansas.

    Great job by our team and a big thank you to AD Yow for putting together such a great staff and doing WolfPack fans proud.

    The Podcast touched on Coach Gott’s relationship with the sports media and it was dead on. I felt like State got no respect from the media in the past and now we at least have a few of Coach Gott’s former colleagues on our side. Fran F. may be my new favorite sports media member. I thought Hubert Davis and Jason Williams were also very fair to NC State. 

    • JamesCurle permalink*
      March 19, 2012 8:07 am

      Great comments, as always, Earl. 

      I think the strangest thing for me this weekend was watching Kenny Smith be our most outspoken and vocal advocate. He kept telling folks to look out for this team, and they kept proving him right. He’s a Heel, through and through, but he was definitely championing us.

      In today’s age of media saturation, I don’t think it can be overstated how important it is to have connections with folks in the media and to have a good working relationship with the powers that drive sports coverage, i.e. ESPN. Gottfried has been a Godsend in healing and improving our national image because of his connections in these venues.

Leave a Reply

