Skip to content

The R&R Podcast: Episode 5

June 17, 2011
tags:

The fifth installment of the R&R Podcast is up for your enjoyment. This week's episode features Derek Medlin and as luck would have it, he was up in Charlottesville with PackPride.com covering the NBPA Top 100. His being there gave us a great excuse to talk college basketball recruiting and about what makes the NBPA Top 100 a unique event in the summer basketball circuit.

We also talk a bit about the ever-developing UNC investigation saga on the heels (see what I did there?) of UNC releasing the documents they'd been fighting hard to keep under wraps with FERPA, and then try to step into the mind of a Tar Heel fan going through all this.

Some notes about the many varied ways you can find/listen to the podcast:

  • You may have noticed I've added a podcast player to the R&R homepage, at the top-right of the site, making it nice and easy for you to listen to the podcast. You can also use the player to listen to any of the prior episodes you may have missed;
  • If you rely on iTunes or another RSS podcast feeder to download the shows directly to your audio player, the RSS feed issue has been corrected, so you shouldn't have any further issues getting the latest episode as soon as it goes up. To subscribe (and I humbly beg you to), you can use either this:
     (iTunes subscription link) or this:
     (RSS feed)
  • Visit my TalkShoe.com podcast page here–there you can find previous episodes and either listen through the player or download them. You can also leave some feedback (please do so) or find means to share the podcast with other folks (please do that, as well);
  • If you just need the MP3, you can download this week's episode file here;
  • And if you follow me on Twitter, I will relentlessly beat you over the head with tweets that link to the latest post on the blog about the podcast.

In other words, it's not a matter of you finding the R&R Podcast…it will find you.

Finally, I mention this in the opening of the show this week but I want to repeat it: Please, please, purty please, leave me some feedback on how to improve the show.

The podcast is mine in one sense but I want it to be yours in another, meaning I want you to take ownership of it and feel a part of the creation process. You do that by offering up any suggestions or constructive criticism you might have.

If you love it as is and don't feel like it needs any tweaking (however highly unlikely I may find that to be), fantastic! But you gotta let me know that too. If you don't, I'll mistakenly interpret what you intend to be silent approval as you finding it merely meh or so-so. And those who have suggestions might "suggest away" an aspect you really enjoy but didn't express an appreciation of. A simple "I love it" or "it's great" in the comments section is enough to let me know this, this and/or this works because of positive feedback.

The plan is to have everything set, by and large, when football season rolls around, so I'm utilizing these first summer episodes to tweak and adjust and play around (hence the new intro) to find a format I enjoy that'll keep you listening. It's clear I can ramble on for three hours straight each week, but I'm pretty sure no one wants that. These months leading up to August are for finding that sweet spot that keeps the podcast in your regular listening rotation, and it's up to you to get me there with your feedback.

So are we good? Do you feel empowered yet? We're all on board the podcast train then? Fantastic. (It's blatantly obvious I've been listening to a lot of Marc Maron's WTF podcast lately.)

As always, thanks for listening.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    June 20, 2011 1:04 am

    Thanks for doing the podcast – you’ve got way more kahunas than I do! My only critique is that it takes a long time for you to actually convey information. Your podcasts could be half as long (or even less), but adding unnecessary words, sentences, repeating the same idea 2 or 3 times, etc. is making it seem like you are getting paid by the minute of podcasts.

    I can guarantee you that what you are doing now will pay off in the future – as far as your experience, self-confidence, etc. Congratulations!

    • Anonymous permalink*
      June 20, 2011 12:56 pm

      Thanks so much!

      Yes, one of the challenges I’ve encountered to this point is eliminating a lot of the “pause words” that seem to litter my everyday speech–the ums and errs that I joke about often. I’ve tried to focus on decreasing them and while I can notice a difference b/w Ep 1 and Ep 5, I still have a long way to go.

      I do want to tighten things up, reduce redundancy and get the maximum amount of content-per-minute, but at the same time I want to make sure I don’t get away from the conversational aspect of the podcast. In my mind, it’s less of an interview and more of a chat between two fans of State/ACC/sports in general. 

      The goal is getting to a place where a natural conversation generates as much meaty content as a straight interview would.

      Thanks so much for the input!

Leave a Reply

