Skip to content

BlogPoll: Week 6

October 4, 2010
tags:

Notes after the jump:

  • Well, State’s stay was brief. For poll watchers, it’s a good thing that State is still receiving votes in the AP and USA Today polls, as that gives us enough traction to get back into it if we can score two victories against BC and ECU. Can’t count chickens until they hatch, of course, but the voters haven’t completely written State off.
  • Oregon’s huge win against a very good Stanford team gives me the confidence to move them into the top three.
  • Ohio State’s unimpressive victory over Temple conversely gives me confidence to move them down to fifth.
  • Miami continues to move up, but man, I feel real shaky about putting them just outside the top 10 given how many picks Jacory Harris feels obliged to throw on a weekly basis. Their defense is pretty nasty, though, so I have them 12th.
  • Hello Sparty! Head coach or not, the Spartans are playing inspired football these days. A huge win over Wisconsin at home jumps them into the rankings at 19.
  • Something’s starting to click at Florida State defensively. They’re not the same team we saw against Oklahoma earlier this year…they’re shutting teams down. They’ve outscored BYU, Wake Forest and Virginia 99-24 in their last three games.
  • There’s Virginia Tech, about where I’ve had them every week since the James Madison game. Truthfully, I probably could’ve ranked them even higher after watching their poised performance against State on Saturday, but they’re starting to grow into the ranking I’ve given them the last three polls.
  • For the same reason I didn’t boot Virginia Tech from the polls after JMU, I’m retaining Texas in the top 25. Yeah, they’ve struggled of late, but there’s just too much talent for me to believe they wouldn’t beat Nevada or any of the other teams behind them in the vote getters.
  • It occurred to me that I have been leaving LSU out of the rankings. No one noticed. So despite the fact the Tigers are 12th in the AP and 9th in the USA Today poll, I refuse to rate them that high after “beating” Tennessee because of an illegal substitution penalty. So they get a token 25th vote, just so in the event someone says, “Hey, where’s LSU?” I can point to #25 and say “There you go.”
  • Mizzou is 4-0 and ranked in the two major polls, but they’ve beaten NO ONE to this point. The “Show Me” state’s flagship school needs to show me they can keep it up against conference competition before they make it into my ballot.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

