Skip to content

BlogPoll: Week 4

September 21, 2010

Notes:

  • I hate to do it to Pitt, but I had to drop them from the rankings despite a win and a close loss to Utah on the road. There are just too many impressive teams behind them that are tough to ignore.
  • Houston gets dropped as well because of the unfortunate torn ACL of Case Keenum. To add insult to injury (literally), the Cougars lost their backup QB for the year in the same game to a broken collarbone. I don’t think they can plug in their third-stringer in their steads and expect similar results.
  • Yes, I still have the Hokies ranked. They nearly blew it against ECU but finally got off the mat in time to win comfortably against the Pirates. I still think the Hokies would beat every team behind them.
  • I told y’all to keep an eye on Arizona, didn’t I? They’re kicking ass and taking names, and took down #10 Iowa this past weekend. As such, I have them 12th, knocking on the door of the top 10.
  • I’m high on Utah, as well, and they keep collecting scalps. This past weekend they beat New Mexico by 42. They’ve got pretty smooth sailing from here throughout the month of October until they meet a solid Air Force team on the road prior to hosting top-5 TCU. Can you say “trap game?”
  • West Virginia was omitted from last week’s poll for some reason. Not this week. They took care of business against Maryland and are worthy of their #20 spot.
  • *Idle Michigan slipped a few spots, a victim of movement of the teams above them. Sorry. 😦
  • There’s a two-fer Wolfpack/Wolf-space-Pack special at the bottom of the rankings. State’s quietly flying under the radar at the moment but I think they’re playing well enough on defense to warrant the inclusion. Nevada’s quarterback Colin Kaepernick is a true talent, and the Wolf-spacers are posting over 50 points a game, including a 52-point performance last week against struggling Cal-Berkley.

*EDIT: As furrerforheisman astutely pointed out, Michigan did, in fact, play this past weekend, nearly surrendering a game to lowly UMass. However, my retardedness in forgetting/missing that fact ultimately did not impact the rankings any as I likely would’ve slid Michigan down a couple of spots in response to their poor showing against the Minutemen.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2010 11:43 am

    Over-ranking future opponents is my shtick.

  2. Scott permalink
    September 21, 2010 1:28 pm

    so, the hokies win and you dropped them 3 slots. but their loss to JMU didn’t drop them out? I understand the way you see the poll, I just see it differently. I don’t think V Tech’s play thus far warrants a vote.

  3. September 21, 2010 2:54 pm

    Only Michigan’s defense was idle last week. Fortunately the offense showed up, allowing it to beat UMass, 42-37. The Wolverines trailed 17-7 at one point and allowed 20 fourth-quarter points.

    • September 21, 2010 3:34 pm

      Good Lord, you’re right. Apparently my brain was idle this week…

      Bonus: I probably would’ve docked MGoBlue a couple of spots because of their performance against UMass, so they ended up where right about where I would’ve put them. No harm, no foul.

Leave a Reply

