Skip to content

BlogPoll: Week 3

September 14, 2010
tags:

My notes after the jump.  Notes:

  • Unlike most, I retained Virginia Tech in my rankings. I still think they are a top-25 caliber team, even if they haven’t played like it in the first two games. Frank Beamer’s too good of a coach to let this team implode and they’ll get back to improving their defense and special teams.
  • Michigan shoots into the rankings, along with Stanford. Denard Robinson has exploded onto the scene…it remains to be seen if he can keep this kind of production- -or something like it- -up for the remainder of the year as teams try to neutralize him.
  • I’m really high on Arizona. We east-coasters don’t get to see much of them but watch out for them. They’ve got tons of talent on offense including a stud by the name of Nic Grigsby whose name you need to commit to memory. Granted, they haven’t been tested much as of yet, but they kept their foot on the throats of Toledo and The Citadel and didn’t let them up off the turf while still coasting through the second half with their second-teamers. As a result, they’ve outscored both teams a combined 93-8. They’ll get a huge test this weekend with Iowa, and we’ll see if they’re for real.
  • I haven’t decided to punish Florida as much as others have as I believe the Gators have probably the best or 2nd-best college football coach in America (I have Saban slightly higher…Peterson and Patterson are close behind) and will get back to whippin’ ass forthright.
  • I think Pitt has been unfairly punished in the rankings, which is why I have them still in while seemingly no one else does. They lose a close game to a well-coached (and now ranked) Utah on the road and suddenly #15 Pitt is chopped liver? I think a lot of it is (somewhat justified) ingrained skepticism of The Wan-stache keeping their overly deflated.
  • Yeah, I threw a single vote State’s way. Sue me.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 11:30 am

    Should State beat Cincinnati this Thursday night, I think they legitimately deserve the 25th slot.

  2. September 14, 2010 12:02 pm

    I’ve watched the JMU game twice now. Why, yes, I am a masochist, why do you ask? Anyway, that’s the not the point. The point is that anyone that has us in the Top 25 this week should be stripped of their BlogPoll vote and defenestrated.

    • September 14, 2010 1:32 pm

      Because of my background of four years of Latin, I applaud your use of the word “defenestrate.”

      And y’all will get it together. I try to rank teams on how I think teams would fare if you played multiple games at a neutral field. If VT played JMU 100 times at FedEx or wherever, they’d probably win 98 of them. And you’d probably steal quite a few from Boise our of 100 as well.

      Some folks view their poll rankings as a reward or punishment for the team’s rank to that point in time. If you ranked a strong 1-3 team over a weak 4-0 team, they’d raise holy hell. Approaching rankings that way never made any sense to me. The #1 team should be able to beat the #2 team a majority of the time, the #2 against the #3, the #3 against the #4, and so on.

      • September 14, 2010 4:44 pm

        We didn’t play JMU 100 times in FedEx. We played them once in Blacksburg and f****** lost. I can understand applying that logic to teams we haven’t played, like y’all, but we actually played this FCS team and actually lost to them and are actually in kind of a tailspin right now. We are currently 20-point favorites against ECU. I suggest you bet $Texas on the Pirates.

  3. Scott permalink
    September 15, 2010 9:12 am

    I’m a little perplexed as to how you can vote V Tech into the top 25, too. I see the poll as a reward for how you are playing right now. you win, you get rewarded, you lose, you don’t. They suck right now. Will they be playing much better later? maybe. Vote them back in then, not now.

    • September 15, 2010 9:40 am

      And see, if I viewed the poll the same as you do, I’d do the exact same thing. I just choose to view it as a list of the top 25 teams in the country, in order from strongest to weakest, apart from any win/loss records.

      If VT loses THIS week against ECU, well, then I think it’s reasonable to say that there are certainly 25 (if not 35) teams out there stronger than them.

Leave a Reply

