Skip to content

State Learned Absolutely Nothing From Georgetown Loss

December 2, 2010


Where does this team go from here? (Courtesy N&O)

Following State’s collapse in the second half of the Georgetown game, I felt like losing the game in that fashion—while painful to watch—would give this team something to build on.

They could go back to the film, see where they went away from the gameplan and reverted to “street ball,” and use that tape to correct some of the selfish tendencies that led them to play as five individuals versus one team.

Believing that scenario would transpire is what led me to think State had a puncher’s chance against Wisconsin.

After watching the game last night—every last, agonizing second of it—it’s clear this team, its players and its coaches didn’t take one damn thing away from the Georgetown game. Not one.

EVERY negative tendency we saw manifest itself in the second half of the Georgetown game—the poor/quick shot selection, the insistence to take folks one-on-one, the incredibly sloppy defense and the overall lack of a sense of urgency—didn’t wait until the second half to appear against the Badgers; they were right there from the opening tip.

I can’t recall the last time a State game made me physically ill, but last night did. My stomach literally twisted watching that garbage, because I knew what it ultimately meant: poor, poor coaching, and the chance that the demons that plagued the 2007 season could be rearing their ugly heads again.

I want Sidney Lowe to succeed very badly. I know what he means to this University and its legacy on the hardwood, and how much State means to him personally. But while he deserves tremendous kudos for his recruiting ability and his knack for targeting talent early, I lost a LOT of confidence in his ability to coach and mold great talent into what he needs to succeed last night.

I truly thought (or drank the Kool Aid that was being passed around) that Sidney’s issues to this point were 1) a lack of talent and 2) chemistry clashes that would be solved once “his guys” were all in place. I understood why the strife between JJ Hickson and Herb’s star players; I couldn’t foresee a team of extremely talented guys whom Sidney had built relationships with since their junior high days not meshing together.

But watching the team last night, it felt like 2007 all over again, and if 2011 plays out like it did four years ago, this will be Sidney’s last year at State. Of that, there now is no doubt in my mind.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2010 11:02 am

    No doubt, spot on. I really want Sid to succeed. He loves the school as much as any of us, however last night just confirmed what most of us objectionable fans feared – it doesn’t matter who’s on the floor, the coaches just aren’t getting it done. He has brought in a considerable amount of talent – probably rivaling any former coach – but it isn’t translating into anything but bad basketball (again). Teams with far less talented players do much better. I really hate to say it, but I came to that reality last night. We need a new coach, and today wouldn’t be soon enough.

  2. December 2, 2010 11:05 am

    And I’m sure it happened, but I don’t recall ever being beaten so badly – since the Les Robinson/open tryouts on campus/playing the managers/waterboys era. Maybe we have on the score board, but I don’t think we ever had so across the board completely.

  3. December 2, 2010 12:11 pm

    last night was awful. I think it got wheels moving in the AD. Never too early to start getting a list of coaches together. I, too, have lost my confidence in Coach Lowe. They looked lost and there were no adjustments. Sadly, Coach Lowe is making Leonard Hamilton look like a great X’s and O’s guy.

  4. John permalink
    December 2, 2010 12:32 pm

    I’m not a coach, but had it been me, I would have done one of two things: (1) Bench the players and play the scrubs, or (2) sat down and let the team self-destruct. I’m not down on this team yet though. Lorenzo Brown gives me hope. I worry about Harrow though. He has tremendous potential and seems like such a good kid; for his sake I hope he progresses this year.

  5. Badinboarder permalink
    December 2, 2010 6:38 pm

    Well, you also have to take into consideration that Wisconsin shot a ridiculous 70% from behind the arc!! I mean everything was falling in for them. I know, I know they were open shots and our 3pt Defense sucks (Georgetown destroyed us tere too), but even open shots 3pt shots shouldn’t fall that often! They also had 3 fouls to our 25 in the game, that’s also ridiculous! Excuses aside, I am hanging by a thread of hope that this team finds its rhythm by ACC play.

    • December 3, 2010 10:20 am

      I agree that Wisky was hitting at a higher-than-average clip from behind the arc. Hell, if you had all the Wisconsin players shoot threes during warmups I doubt they could hit 70%. That being said, if they only hit 40% of their threes, it only reduces the margin of victory by about 10-15 (without looking at the math). And the way we were rebounding, there’s a good chance Wisconsin boards a lot of those potential misses, so the impact in the final margin might’ve been even that much.

    • John permalink
      December 3, 2010 11:02 am

      3-point defense being weak wouldn’t bother me if our interior defense was strong. Thinking back to the days of Marcus Melvin, we’ve seen that strategy beat the heck out of us many times… score on the inside and force them to beat us from the outside the arc. But, the interior defense (and overall rebounding) wasn’t what it should have been under such a strategy. On another note, despite his inability to hit shots, I was impressed by Brown and Wood. Harrow and Leslie seriously bother me though. Harrow looks like he hasn’t been prepared well enough for serious competition. I won’t even comment on Leslie, except to say that I had to leave the TV set after one shot to calm down.

  6. December 3, 2010 4:04 pm

    It’s pretty hard to pin point the one area of weakness. there were so many. poor offense and poor defense. lack of intensity. lack of effort. poor preparation. i was thinking they sleep walked thru the Fairly Dickenson game because they were looking ahead to Wisconsin. It seems like the reality is that we’re just slightly better than FDU right now. Maybe we were looking ahead of both to Syracuse? yeah, that’s the ticket.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

