Skip to content

SB Nation BlogPoll: Week Two

September 7, 2010

Riddick & Reynolds Ballot – Week 2

Rank Team Delta
1 Alabama Crimson Tide
2 Ohio St. Buckeyes
3 Boise St. Broncos
4 Texas Longhorns
5 Oregon Ducks Arrow_up 6
6 TCU Horned Frogs Arrow_up 1
7 Florida Gators Arrow_down -1
8 Oklahoma Sooners Arrow_down -3
9 Nebraska Cornhuskers Arrow_up 1
10 Iowa Hawkeyes Arrow_down -1
11 Miami Hurricanes Arrow_up 1
12 Wisconsin Badgers Arrow_up 1
13 Virginia Tech Hokies Arrow_down -5
14 Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Arrow_up 2
15 Arkansas Razorbacks Arrow_up 2
16 Penn St. Nittany Lions Arrow_down -1
17 Utah Utes Arrow_up 7
18 Georgia Bulldogs Arrow_up 2
19 Oregon St. Beavers Arrow_up 4
20 Pittsburgh Panthers Arrow_down -6
21 Auburn Tigers Arrow_up 1
22 Florida St. Seminoles Arrow_up 3
23 Arizona Wildcats
24 South Carolina Gamecocks
25 Notre Dame Fighting Irish
Dropouts: USC Trojans, LSU Tigers, North Carolina Tar Heels

SB Nation BlogPoll College Football Top 25 Rankings »

My train of thought for the movement in my poll (that’s what she said):

  • I dropped out USC for the absolutely piss-poor job their defense did against Hawaii. They went from a team that looked dominant on defense a couple of years ago to the Keystone Cops.
  • I don’t believe in the “ladder system” of ranking teams. Some folks will automatically move teams up when they win and down when they lose. I try to determine if I feel like–more or less–every team above the one just below it would win majority of 10 games played on a neutral field. It’s not perfect, but I believe in that method more than the ladder system. As such, I removed BOTH LSU and UNC from the poll. LSU may have won the game, but they looked horrible in the second half doing it. UNC lost, but moreso is the fact the news out of Chapel Hill continues to get worse, and with John Blake stepping down, I think the team psyche will begin to unravel.
  • I upgraded the Arizona Wildcats and South Carolina Gamecocks into the rankings based on what I saw of them on television. AZ has some serious playmakers and USC looks solid on both sides of the ball for the first time under Spurrier.
  • Notre Dame beat Purdue, but earned my #25 vote moreso on how much I think of Brian Kelly as a coach. I think he’ll do wonders for them with all the Notre Dame talent left for him by Charlie Weiss.
  • Oregon stomped a mudhole in New Mexico. Period.

Feel free to discuss in the comments section.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 2:08 pm

    I don’t see how you can say what you do about your system then have Florida ranked #7

    • September 7, 2010 2:13 pm

      Goalie,

      Thanks for stopping by!

      It’s not a perfect system and I reserve the right to go against it. :) Tell me, though, do you think I have them too high or too low? Oklahoma looked very uninspiring in squeaking out a win against Utah State at home. Do you feel like I need to have Nebraska higher?

  2. Mark permalink
    September 8, 2010 8:26 am

    USC will get their test against UGA this weekend….we’ll see if they’re legit then.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

